Introducing… The Communicatorium!

August 19, 2008 at 12:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

Greetings, blogosphere! I am DB, and I’d like to welcome you to my blog. I’ll be blogging about marketing communications, messages, senders, receivers, and especially the new media that are getting the messages across. Please feel free to read, subscribe, comment, agree, disagree, and link. After all, this is The Communicatorium, and communication requires more than one person!

 

My perspectives on messages and media are shaped by a decade and a half of marketing communications experience in agency, corporate, and not-for-profit settings. Communication has always fascinated me, from the way people and organizations form their messages, to the methods they use to send and receive them. Even among people who speak the same language, a phrase or an image can mean different things to different people. The medium by which a message is sent also adds to or subtracts from the meaning. Would you rather find out that your local coffee shop is offering Free Latte Fridays by postal mail, email, or text message? Do you expect your investment firm to communicate with you by heavy confidential envelope through the mail or by a live online chat? Making it more personal, do you think your mother would rather receive her Happy Birthday message from you by fax, by a multimedia message on her cell phone, or by a traditional phone call?

 

But enough of the hypothetical questions for now. In upcoming posts, I’ll explore the potential of some new media, noteworthy successes and failures in their use, and how we can establish meaningful relationships with customers, vendors, colleagues, donors, and investors using different types of media. I plan to post at least twice a week, so check back in often. Or just subscribe. (Go ahead, you know you want to!)

 

Thanks for reading! Til the next time,

 

DB

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey DB,

    Thanks for letting me know about your blog, I’ll be stopping by!

    btw, I would rather receive a text about my free latte, but I love getting birthday cards in the postal mail.

    Cheers,
    April

  2. DB,

    Way to go! Thanks for sending the blog link. Now I will having something to look forward to throughout the week.

    Text for the latte would be the best thing for most people. However when I received a free latte recently from Starbucks they snail mailed it to me, which I found suprising. But I did redeem it quickly :).

    As for bday, well I like the snail mail method as well however most of my friends ecard me. When you think about at least ecards don’t use paper, gas, or postage to get there.

    Until next time,
    jak

  3. What’s happening. I see your up and running!

  4. Thanks for stopping by, April, Jak, and Jimm!

    So far text messages seem to be winning the free latte wars, but snail mail rules for birthday wishes. That is surprising about Starbucks, but it appears it worked, huh? I wish they’d send me one.

    DB

  5. Hey DB,

    I received the free latte coupon from Starbucks for registering my Starbucks gift card on their website during a promotion to get more cards registered. It is a way for them to build a loyalty program. If you register you get other perks too. BTW I have no clue if their program is working or not. They closed 2 out of our 4 Starbucks. So the habit has been curtailed. 😦

    jak


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

